Author Topic: Add danish language to download images  (Read 8418 times)

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Add danish language to download images
« on: November 30, 2013, 12:50:22 PM »
Can someone add danish language to the images at http://downloads.geeksphone.com/ ?

I would like to know when it has been added so i can test the translation.

Offline luis.cuervo

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 816
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 01:19:23 AM »
Danish was added, but only in master, and it must be in 1.2 too so we can add it to our images. I reply to the opener of the thread, but not response from his side :(

Ask Mozilla to add it to 1.2 so we can add it to our images. When done, reply here and it will be added in this moment.

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2013, 07:07:11 PM »
What tread did you reply in ?

I have created this now : https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=946057

I dont understand if i go to https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/tree/master/apps/settings/locales there is only 4 translations. Where are all the others ?

There is not made a danish keyboard layout yet.
So should i just try and make it myself ?
https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/tree/master/keyboard/layouts

Its hard to know exactly what to do.

Offline luis.cuervo

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 816
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 12:25:42 AM »
Sorry, seems that I think that Danish was added and it was another language.

I really dont know how to add layouts, but in the bug you opened you will get more help. Once danish is added contact us and we will add it to our images. Remember ask Mozilla to add it to 1.2 too, because nornaly they only add layouts to master.

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2013, 10:51:07 PM »
I took the norwegian keyboard layout and change it into danish layout : https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/pull/14337
Hope it will be accepted.

There is 25 languages in /locales/languages_all.json in the 1.2 branch.
But for some reason only 4 languages in for example /apps/browser/locales/

I dont mind testing danish language with a nightly image.
Does danish language have to be in 1.2 branch in order to get into the nightly images ?

I dont understand how all these branches work.
If i want to add danish language i guess i should only do it in one branch (maybe the master branch) and then in time it will move up to 1.1 and then 1.2 etc. But im not sure.

Right now danish language is in the v1.1.0hd so maybe i just need to wait untill someone thinks it time to move it to 1.2 ? I dont know.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 10:54:15 PM by scootergrisen »

Offline luis.cuervo

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 816
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2013, 12:48:30 AM »
I took the norwegian keyboard layout and change it into danish layout : https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/pull/14337
Hope it will be accepted.

There is 25 languages in /locales/languages_all.json in the 1.2 branch.
But for some reason only 4 languages in for example /apps/browser/locales/

I dont mind testing danish language with a nightly image.
Does danish language have to be in 1.2 branch in order to get into the nightly images ?

I dont understand how all these branches work.
If i want to add danish language i guess i should only do it in one branch (maybe the master branch) and then in time it will move up to 1.1 and then 1.2 etc. But im not sure.

Right now danish language is in the v1.1.0hd so maybe i just need to wait untill someone thinks it time to move it to 1.2 ? I dont know.

Locale is different than layout.

With locale you have a language in the image, with layout you have a keyboard layout for this language.

In 1.1 you have Danish locale, but not layout, because layouts are a feature of 1.2 and above.
I think that Danish locale is in 1.2 too, but the layouts need to be added at building time, so we only can add it when we know that they are added in the 1.2 code, this is the same for master. And normaly if added to master it is not added to 1.2 (earlier version) if not asked to do it.

The locales are not in gaia and need to be downloaded before building, so dont search for them in the apps folder. The ones in languages_all are the correct ones, and we download all the ones that are in this file before build a image.

Once this request is accepted in master and 1.2, come back here, post it and i will add it to the images.

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2013, 04:38:34 PM »
Where do you download the languages from ?

Offline luis.cuervo

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 816
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2013, 12:27:06 AM »

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re: Add danish language to download images
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2013, 01:32:54 PM »
Ok i asked here if anyone know how to get it into 1.2 : https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=946057

Offline Jesper Kristensen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2013, 11:51:13 AM »
On http://downloads.geeksphone.com/ you have 1.1 builds, 1.2 builds and 1.3 builds. You say the locale must be added to 1.2 before you include it. We have Danish for 1.3 now. Does that mean that we have to provide a 1.2 version before you can include Danish in your 1.3 version? Or can we not get Danish in your 1.3 builds at all?

Offline tchevalier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 1
  • Mozilla Localization Driver
    • View Profile
    • theochevalier.fr
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2013, 04:21:07 PM »
On http://downloads.geeksphone.com/ you have 1.1 builds, 1.2 builds and 1.3 builds. You say the locale must be added to 1.2 before you include it. We have Danish for 1.3 now. Does that mean that we have to provide a 1.2 version before you can include Danish in your 1.3 version? Or can we not get Danish in your 1.3 builds at all?

Hey Jesper,

They meant the locale must be added to 1.2 repo only if you want to provide Danish for 1.2 ;)

If the localization is ready for 1.3, just morph the bug 946057 and ask Pike to create this repo https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v1_3/da (l10n for 1.3 builds are automatically pulled from there by scripts). No need to care about 1.2 if you don't want to.

Once it's done, Geeksphone will be able to add Danish to 1.3 builds

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2013, 12:50:25 AM »
Cool now geeksphone have made 1.3 images available. And because the danish translation is 1.3 thats fine.
So no need to get it into 1.2 now.

There was some string missing and obsolete in the danish translation but i have made some pull request about them : https://l10n.mozilla.org/dashboard/compare?run=361809 and https://bitbucket.org/mozilladanmark/gaia-da

So when the green bar goes all the way at https://l10n.mozilla.org/dashboard/compare?run=361809 does this mean that the danish translation is ready to get into Firefox OS 1.3 ?

How do i morph a bug ?

What is the difference between languages_all.json og languages_dev.json ?
Danish is only in languages_all.json.
https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/tree/v1.3/locales

Offline tchevalier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 1
  • Mozilla Localization Driver
    • View Profile
    • theochevalier.fr
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2013, 03:18:05 AM »
Cool now geeksphone have made 1.3 images available. And because the danish translation is 1.3 thats fine.
So no need to get it into 1.2 now.

There was some string missing and obsolete in the danish translation but i have made some pull request about them : https://l10n.mozilla.org/dashboard/compare?run=361809 and https://bitbucket.org/mozilladanmark/gaia-da

So when the green bar goes all the way at https://l10n.mozilla.org/dashboard/compare?run=361809 does this mean that the danish translation is ready to get into Firefox OS 1.3 ?

No.
When "gaia-community" becomes green on https://l10n.mozilla.org/shipping/dashboard?locale=da , it means the localization is complete. But the locale can be included even if it is not complete yet, the translations on the phone are updated everyday.

How do i morph a bug ?

I will do it

What is the difference between languages_all.json og languages_dev.json ?
Danish is only in languages_all.json.
https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/tree/v1.3/locales

You don't have to care about that, L10n drivers will update the files if needed. I'm not even sure languages_dev is ever used nowadays, though.

Offline scootergrisen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Netkoder.dk
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2013, 10:18:43 AM »
I have 1.3 on my phone now and if i go to settings and language the list there is the same as https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/blob/v1.3/locales/languages_dev.json

Once https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v1_3/da is created do the danish translation team need to upload the file into that place ?

Offline tchevalier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 1
  • Mozilla Localization Driver
    • View Profile
    • theochevalier.fr
Re:Add danish language to download images
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2013, 06:53:24 PM »
I have 1.3 on my phone now and if i go to settings and language the list there is the same as https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/blob/v1.3/locales/languages_dev.json

Indeed, that's the file GP is using. I thought they were using languages_all.json. If L10n drivers are okay to create the repo, this file will probably be updated ;)

Once https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v1_3/da is created do the danish translation team need to upload the file into that place ?

You mean, do the danish team will have to maintain both https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v1_3/da and https://hg.mozilla.org/gaia-l10n/da ? Since that's two separate repositories, yes.
- If a string lands on 1.3, you will have to translate it twice (or, better solution, you can merge 1.3 to master)
- If you edit a string on master that is also on 1.3, you may want to update it on 1.3 as well.

But you can manage them the way you want: being consistent as much as possible (translation + QA merge from 1.3 to master), or doing QA only on master. It’s up to you.

(To be sure a string is translated the same way across branches, you can use this cool feature http://transvision.mozfr.org/gaia/ . 1.3 will be supported soon.)

In a nutshell, until danish locale is requested for shipping into an official Firefox OS build, branches like 1.3 are just "bonus" from which you can get early feedback from your community (which is very good), but those branches may never be exposed to end-users, if there is no request for shipping.

I don't know if I'm clear :)