Author Topic: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?  (Read 7780 times)

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« on: September 04, 2014, 02:57:56 AM »
Hello,

Is there people who tried already 1.4 and 2.0 on Peak?
Are they as stable as the 1.3 image or is it still to buggy (I mean, if you let appart the video playback problem)?
Problems experienced during the upgrade when keeping users data?

Thanks a lot for you feedbacks.

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 05:11:24 AM »
I am with Peak, B2G 2.0 for about a month.

This is the first version that really feels "wow!" for me.
It's a huge step from any lower version.
Similar to move from Android 2.x version to 4.0

The main issues:
1. No video.
2. Several graphic artifacts in some apps, like partly black screen.
Mostly can be resolved by scrolling the screen down and up.

The upgrade is smooth.

In general - I recommend the upgrade, especially if you are still with v1.1 (as it looks GP not going to release any new "stable" update).

Also, take a look at this list of open v2.0 bugs, to make sure there is no relevant to you critical bug:
http://mzl.la/1r6VH0h
Personally, most of this bugs are pretty corner issues and no critical for a daily, regular use.

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 09:44:04 AM »
Thanks. You said that the upgrade was smooth, did you keep user data?

PS: I think the problems of display might be related to the bad graphic driver that causes the video bug.

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2014, 10:03:29 AM »
Bdcomp, if you check "hardware compositing" in hardware options, do the videos work?

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2014, 10:23:07 AM »
Bdcomp, if you check "hardware compositing" in hardware options, do the videos work?

No, still just sound.

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2014, 11:01:39 AM »
Weird. On 1.3 it solves the bug.

Offline joseignaciofff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2014, 11:07:37 AM »
The error of the video image is very annoying.

Just so I installed a ROM https://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=6234.0

Languages ​​Spanish and English.

Very stable, with minor errors

But, each one is responsible for what he does .....

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2014, 11:10:52 AM »
Bdcomp. And what about the option 'keep user data' during the upgrade to 2.0?

Offline c.martinez.lozano

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2014, 11:33:44 AM »
The error of the video image is very annoying.

Just so I installed a ROM https://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=6234.0

Languages ​​Spanish and English.

Very stable, with minor errors

But, each one is responsible for what he does .....

Now solved on new releases

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2014, 12:22:36 PM »
Bdcomp. And what about the option 'keep user data' during the upgrade to 2.0?

It works, no data lost.

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2014, 12:31:13 PM »
Great. Thanks a lot for the feedback.

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2014, 12:33:24 PM »
The error of the video image is very annoying.

Just so I installed a ROM https://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=6234.0

Languages ​​Spanish and English.

Very stable, with minor errors

But, each one is responsible for what he does .....

Now solved on new releases

Yay!!!

Confirmed - the video issue fixed on the latest v2.0, build id 20140903211809.

Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2014, 01:52:05 AM »
Hi finally upgraded from 1.3 to 2.0 without problems. The video is back. Overall is it very nice.

The only very annoying bug is that it becomes very slow when you try to organise the icons on your panel. Some people with no patience would say it's not usable at all.

For the rest it's pretty much stable.

Offline Bada3.0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: 36
  • FREIHEIT!
    • View Profile
    • FIREFOXER
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2014, 04:01:26 AM »
Hi together,

I own the Geeksphone Revolution with FFOS 1.3pre and I'm not satisfied with the battery drain  :(

Is there any improvement from 1.3 to 2.0? By the way do you also have a weak battery life with Peak or is it just the Revolution?

Greetings
Geeksphone Revolution
ZTE Open C (FFOS 2.2)
Samsung Wave II

Havin' problems with connecting your GP Revolution with ADB or want to add some features or some improvements? Try my little scripting project "FIREFOXER" and tell me your opinion :-)

--> http://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=6063.0

Offline catfed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Who tried 1.4 and 2.0?
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2014, 08:39:04 AM »
Hi.
Very well for the video.

But I still have no GPS at all in my Peak, in 1.3

Does it work in 2.0 ?