Author Topic: Kernel memory configuration  (Read 10291 times)

mmo_gpf

  • Guest
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2011, 01:06:11 AM »
The stock rom is NOT developed by Ricardo. Ricardo has helped to finetune its latest details ;)

Ok...sorry about my inaccurate data ...

but....What about memory kernel limitation?

Kind regards

Offline Javier (gp)

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3567
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2011, 04:49:41 AM »
Its defined by the bootloader, we will try to gather some data.

Offline kedder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2011, 05:07:25 AM »
Actually, the above is true for stock rom, supplied with Zero, too:

Oh, it might be reasonable to note, that the "stockiness" of my rom might be slightly compromised by installing ClockworkMod Recovery, then flashing CM 7.0.3 and then returning to Geeksphone stock from backup. I don't know if these operations could result in different kernel boot command line, though.

It would be interesting to hear from one who didn't mess with rom-flashing.

Offline Javier (gp)

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3567
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2011, 05:57:45 AM »
Nope, that cmdline is bootloaders default

Offline marantz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: -3
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #19 on: June 09, 2011, 01:25:26 AM »
Can this MEM limitation addressable only compile-time (thus requiring a new rom) or is it possible to change it using some configuration settings ? If this extra memory is really unused, would be of great help to increase the VM Heap Size, so applications can take advantage of.

Offline upuaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2011, 12:24:51 AM »
@Javier: how's the data gathering on this issue progressing?

Offline schweig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2011, 01:47:01 AM »
The international forum is a little bit like the cm forum. Dead. The main speech for the geeksphone seems to be spanish. It's even curious that the only new and working rom has a recovery only in spanish available.

Offline upuaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #22 on: June 16, 2011, 04:02:52 AM »
Time to try and build my own CM ROM then, but without the 212M limitation in the command line *flexes fingers*

Offline upuaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #23 on: June 18, 2011, 06:44:24 AM »
I've been experimenting since this morning, and here results.

My intention was to follow the instructions in this thread: http://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=2366.0, and specify a different mem parameter in the command line.

I first tried installing CM nightly 103 - which doesn't work because of a problem with the 'su' command.

I then installed CM nightly 102, unpacked the zip file, split the boot image into a kernel and ramdisk, and re-assembled a new boot image with a higher amount of memory specified in the cmdline. 256M resulted in a non-booting system. So did 240M.

Unless I'm doing something wrong, which is certainly possible, it looks like the limitation to 212M is there for a good reason. Unfortunately I'm nowhere closer to figuring out why.

Oh well. At least I tried. I guess we're back at the mercy of the good folks at GeeksPhone.

Offline maxmaniac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #24 on: June 18, 2011, 09:57:30 AM »

@uapuaut

I also tried changing those values when I built the overclock kernel, but the system wouldn't boot at all or would get stuck at the Zero splash screen.

It would be nice if we could find why only 212M works...

Offline Javier (gp)

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3567
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2011, 04:17:31 AM »
The bootloader requires this setting to be passed. It was implemented following qcom's recommended directives. It seems that some parts of the hardware require an amount of shared mem to be allocated at boot :)

Offline kedder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #26 on: June 21, 2011, 06:05:04 AM »
Hmm, that makes official hardware specs a bit misleading... Amount of RAM on the device is indistinguishable to the user from 212M and only 162M of it is actually available to the OS. This makes it hard to do a fair comparison with other phones.

Offline upuaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2011, 04:21:15 AM »
Interesting observation: CM nightly 124 has 178MB total memory. Available memory seems to be in the high fifties. Something has definitely changed for the better. Muchas gracias!

Offline marantz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: -3
    • View Profile
Re: Kernel memory configuration
« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2011, 03:45:33 AM »
Can the info about the reason of 212M limitation be asked to phone manifacturer ? I suspect is a shared buffer used by qualcomm chipset or video acceleration.

Offline KatyaqEaa4

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • У кого-то есть друзья за рубежом?
Как устроиться в библиотеку на работу?
« Reply #29 on: December 27, 2016, 10:46:35 PM »
Какое образование надо? Корочки какие-то нужны? Очень люблю читать, да и мечта в детстве была стать библиотекарем, но отучилась на технолога.
 
Вот что http://vli.su/d нашлось по этому вопросу...
Очень хороший портал!! Мне тут нравится! Прошу заглядывать ко мне)) http://vli.su/k