Author Topic: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.  (Read 3848 times)

Offline Rub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« on: October 27, 2014, 04:03:08 PM »
I am using a Peak with the latest 1.3 version update. I have noticed that the device connects to internet every five seconds, more or less, even when all applications are closed. Is this a bug, a system application doing something? Has anybody noticed the same behaviour?.

Thanks.

Offline momme

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2014, 01:50:48 AM »
I observed the same problem on 2.0 and 2.1.
Also a noticeable amount of data (> 60MB in 3 days) is transfered by a process called "System" in the data usage monitor (I use the German UI, therefore i don't know the correct English terms).
The high transfer rates started with some OTA update of 2.0 in October and did not vanish with an upgrade to 2.1 on 2014-11-3 (yesterday).

Offline Rub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 07:49:46 AM »
Does anybody from Geeksphone / Mozilla read this messages?.

I would like to know if this is a bug or a feature?. Calculating how much the continuous access to internet represents I have seen we are talking about 60 MB a month. That is too much for the telephone for just doing nothing, apparently.

Thanks.

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2014, 12:51:53 AM »
I'm running v2.0-2014-11-13 and I disabled all error reports and feedback to Mozilla. Within the 12 hours since installation there was no unexpected traffic whatsoever. Please try to disable the error reports and feedback.

Offline Rub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2014, 09:55:11 AM »
I have captured the WiFi traffic generated by the smartphone in order to know what connections were being made. The result is:

  • Every six seconds Firefox OS makes a DNS query to resolve the domain: push.services.mozilla.com
  • It resolves to a server at Amazon Web Services (AWS)
  • It communicates with the server through a secure connection (using TLS).

I have no idea what all this traffic is about.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2014, 02:36:50 AM »
That would be the "Simple Push API" (aka "Push Notification API"). If there are notifications for one of your apps, Firefox OS will wake this app. This generates traffic and reduces battery time. Traffic may vary depending on your apps.

Offline mossroy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2014, 12:38:42 PM »
I'm having the same issue, with v2.0 on Peak. Since about the same time.
Thanks a lot Rub for your analysis.
Doelf, did you find a workaround that avoids this useless network traffic?

I searched on my device which applications make use of this "push API", and found only one : "Find my device"
I remember that I enabled this feature (in the Settings) a few weeks ago. I did not manage to make it work (maybe it's still a work-in-progress), but I could not disable it in the Settings.
Do you also have this feature enabled in your Settings?
I'll try to find a way to disable it to see if it stops the network requests

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2014, 03:33:41 AM »
It looks like the "Device information" -> "Check for updates" is the troublemaker here!

From today morning, the "Check now" button is disabled/inactive and the continuous access to the internet is gone.

Any ideas what and why is going on here?

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2014, 03:55:08 AM »
That's interesting! I've got the update check turned off because I was working on an article about FFOS 2.0 and didn't want to risk new builds with new problems ;-)

Offline mossroy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2014, 01:10:07 PM »
bdcomp and Doelf, how did you manage to turn off the update check?
In the settings, I only have the possibility to choose the update frequency, which has no impact on our issue.

Turning off the update check was a workaround for you?

Offline bdcomp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2014, 10:45:53 PM »
bdcomp and Doelf, how did you manage to turn off the update check?
In the settings, I only have the possibility to choose the update frequency, which has no impact on our issue.

Turning off the update check was a workaround for you?

After double check, the update check is disabled because "Cellular & Data" -> "Data connection" is disabled.

You will be really surprised how long the battery will last if it's disabled...

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2014, 03:41:39 AM »
I changed to monthly because you can't set it to manual checks.

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2014, 03:43:03 AM »
Quote
You will be really surprised how long the battery will last if it's disabled...

Yes. Using the Peak as a dumb mobile phone will give you a week or more :-)

Offline mossroy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2014, 04:00:05 AM »
It looks like the problem has been solved in a recent 2.0 build, at least for me.
I'm currently using build id 20141117072407 and I don't see the network activity every 6 seconds any more.

Do you confirm?

Offline mossroy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Continuous access to internet every 5 seconds.
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2014, 10:12:55 AM »
No, I was wrong in the end.
The problem is not solved with build id 20141117072407.

The network activity came back after some time.
I suppose a reboot only helped temporarily.

So the issue remains  :(