Author Topic: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07  (Read 21212 times)

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2015, 03:59:52 AM »
Great job, jcerdan!
(I haven't had time for a test run yet but this had to be said!)

I really hope you'll get help so we can call this a community effort in the future. I think there should be a stable branch optimized to the Peak (maybe the 8 MPixel camera could be reestablished) und a testing branch using the latest nightlies.

While developing you've got to make sure your apps run stable for actual users. This was always a problem with the builds provided by Geeksphone, because many of these where utterly unstable.

On the other hand, you've got to know where FOS is heading. This was always possible with the builds provided by Geeksphone.

I don't think there is any need for daily builds. One testing build per month and one stable for every major release should be enough.

Just my 2 Cents.

Michael

Offline jcerdan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • Arch User
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2015, 06:49:16 AM »
HI Doelf,

I have just taken a photo and resolution is 2448x3264 which I think is ok.

Currently I have used everything except Calendar (I will connect to my owncloud soon) and everything looks fine.

The only problem I have is that my battery is nearly dead and it only can hold for about 20 minutes if the system is not connected to a powerline. But that's a battery problem and Geeksphone has no replacement (I googled for them but it seems it's not a standard and there are no on earth...). Not the best situation of course.

Currently the image files I have created are for the last release of FirefoxOS, but of course, there should be at least images for last one considered stable by Mozilla (v2.2 isn't that?).

I'll try also to create images for those ones, but it's not a priority for me by now, as what I want to do before is clean the one I have done. If someone has tried or you have a look at the screenshots I provided, you can see that there are plenty of test apps. This is good for developers but not for a daily use. (maybe offer images for developpers and production use?) Also, a maximum number of languages and keyboard layouts should be provided in the images. Once all this done, I think there will be no problem to build v2.2 images as params/modifs should be very similar, if not the same.

about flashing, If you keep a copy of image files that work now for you (downloading from what geeksphone used to provide), you can go and flash with the ones I have done, then if something's wrong, you can flash back to the stable ones you had before. I use contacts2xml and xml2contacts for the contacts list. All docs stored on SD and this way everything's ok. remember to execute contacts2xml before flashing again.

and last, but not least, flash at your own risk...

Offline Doelf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2015, 08:50:03 AM »
2448x3264 = 8 Mpixel and that's great. Geeksphones builds were stuck at 5 Mpixel for ages.

The battery problem is really embarrassing for Geeksphone. The suggested Haier replacements don't work.

Regarding the stability of Firefox OS, there is a huge difference between "Feature Complete" and "Fit For Public Use"! FxOS 2.1 is "Feature Complete" and FxOS 2.2 ist still under developement:

FxOS 2.2 Feature Complete date: April 6, 2015 [in progress]
FxOS 2.1 Feature Complete date: Oct 13, 2014 [completed]
=> https://wiki.mozilla.org/B2G/Roadmap

But FxOS 1.3 is still the latest "Current Release" with standard support. FxOS 1.4 is not to be released at all. FxOS 2.0 is Beta. FxOS 2.1 is Aurora. FxOS 2.2 is Nightly.
=> https://wiki.mozilla.org/Releases

No kidding: Firefox OS 1.3 is still the stable release, even when a few phones are "already" on 2.0.

Offline helmar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2015, 10:13:01 AM »
Please If someone can/wants/dares to try my images, please, tell me what's ok, wrong, etc... and this way we'll have all a build steps to g on firefoxos and peak.

I'll try by the way to do a doc about all I have done.

best,
Thanks for your work!

I just flashed my Peak on Debian 8 i386 using:

http://jordicerdan.com/b2g/md5sum.txt
http://jordicerdan.com/b2g/boot.img
http://jordicerdan.com/b2g/userdata.img
http://jordicerdan.com/b2g/system.img
with the files from images-peak-v2.2-2015-04-07.Gecko-c6d786b.Gaia-4a5b6f8.zip:
adb fastboot flash.sh recovery.img

I didn't have much time to test, just a little bit of surfing over mobile broadband, but this works perfectly.

Helmar.

Offline jcerdan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • Arch User
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #19 on: April 28, 2015, 10:49:31 AM »
@Doelf.
You're right. I think we should focus on versions with feature completed and on the master one. I think that using v1.3 is a step backwards. But that can be duscussed. When 2.2 feature is completed, then 2.1 should be abandoned in favor of 2.2.
Surely there will be minor bugs, but I think they won't be too important, and thus we can help Mozilla build a better OS.

@helmar
Thanks for trying!




Offline rick110

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2015, 04:10:17 AM »
Hi,

I have built BRANCH 2.1 and Master, but with both the internel memory emmc is not found.

The actual master restart frequently, while 2.1 seems to be stable.

2.2 does not detect the toolchain, so I am not able to compile.

Any Ideas for the problem with internal memory?

Thank you

Rick

Offline a-dead-trousers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2015, 08:16:07 AM »
I have built BRANCH 2.1 and Master, but with both the internel memory emmc is not found.
Any Ideas for the problem with internal memory?
See here http://forum.geeksphone.com/index.php?topic=6370.0

Offline rick110

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2015, 11:02:59 AM »
that does not work for me.

My problem is the missing internal memory. The pictures on my sdcard and the music is available, but I can't restore my contacts.

mount says:

tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system ext4 ro,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=0,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered,noauto_da_alloc 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 /persist ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p15 /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0

cat /proc/partitions says:

tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system ext4 ro,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=0,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered,noauto_da_alloc 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 /persist ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p15 /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
root@android:/proc #                                                           
I-search:
root@android:/proc # cat version                                               
I-search: vo
I-search: vol
root@android:/proc # cat /proc/partitions                                     
major minor  #blocks  name

 253        0      49152 zram0
 179        0    3817472 mmcblk0
 179        1         20 mmcblk0p1
 179        2        150 mmcblk0p2
 179        3      40960 mmcblk0p3
 179        4          1 mmcblk0p4
 179        5       1000 mmcblk0p5
 179        6        500 mmcblk0p6
 179        7       2000 mmcblk0p7
 179        8      13576 mmcblk0p8
 179        9       3072 mmcblk0p9
 179       10       3072 mmcblk0p10
 179       11       3072 mmcblk0p11
 179       12     460800 mmcblk0p12
 179       13    1998576 mmcblk0p13
 179       14      10240 mmcblk0p14
 179       15     153600 mmcblk0p15
 179       16      13576 mmcblk0p16
 179       17         20 mmcblk0p17
 179       18    1050000 mmcblk0p18
 179       19        996 mmcblk0p19
 179       20       8192 mmcblk0p20
 179       21      29644 mmcblk0p21
 179       32   30702592 mmcblk1
 179       33   30698496 mmcblk1p1


adb shell vdc volume list

says:

110 sdcard /mnt/sdcard 7
110 emmc /mnt/emmc 0
110 fat /mnt/fat 0
200 Volumes listed.

seems that the internal memory, called sdcard, isn't mounted and the external scdard is (faulty) mounted as /sdcard instead of /emmc


Offline Djan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #23 on: May 11, 2015, 12:07:53 AM »
I did the trick (replace emmc by sdcard1) on the last 2.1 image from GP (want there was that problem). I had to do it twice for it to work (and a reboot).
This didn't work:
Code: [Select]
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard 18 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.3/mmc_host/mmc0

#dev_mount emmc /mnt/emmc auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host

dev_mount sdcard1 /mnt/emmc auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host

But this worked:

Code: [Select]
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard 18 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.3/mmc_host/mmc0

dev_mount sdcard1 /mnt/emmc auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host

Offline rick110

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #24 on: May 11, 2015, 11:31:59 PM »
Hello Djan,

I tried the trick, even twice, but it didn't work for me. The internal memory is still not available and it is impossible to import my contacts backuped at the external scdard.

I will have a closer look at the vold.fstab and the partitions mentioned in /proc/partitions.

I had no problems with the latest gp-images 2.2 and 2.1. The difficulties appear only with self-compiled b2g-images 2.1 and 3.0  >:(

The camera works with 8MP and even the rest seems to be pretty stable and useful.

I tried to compile with TARGET_VARIANT=user but gaia crashed again and again.

If anyone is interested in my images I would post a link.

Rick

Offline robyinno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • GNU/Linux PowerPC Notebook
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #25 on: May 12, 2015, 02:52:23 AM »
In fact I'm interested to have or make a Keon firefox 2.2 updated image to install, how I can do?


If anyone is interested in my images I would post a link.

Rick
Gnu/Linux PowerPC notebook
http://powerpc-notebook.org/

To make happen a new powerpc notebook will be produced soon.
http://twitter.com/powerpcnotebook
https://www.facebook.com/powerpcnotebook

Offline helmar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #26 on: May 12, 2015, 12:53:28 PM »
In fact I'm interested to have or make a Keon firefox 2.2 updated image to install, how I can do?

This is how i built my Peak images. I suppose you only have to replace peak by keon.

Helmar.

Code: [Select]
##### Install and configure the software on Debian 8 Jessie amd64 (as root or using sudo)
################################################################################
# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# apt-get update
# apt-get install git mercurial autoconf2.13 bison ccache curl flex gawk gcc g++ g++-multilib libgl1-mesa-dev libx11-dev make zip unzip bzip2 lib32ncurses5 lib32ncurses5-dev lib32z1 lib32z1-dev libdbus-glib-1-2 libxt6 android-tools-adb default-jdk
# apt-get install zlib1g:i386 zlib1g-dev:i386
##### This is quick'n' dirty - building B2G only works with make version 3.81 or 3.82 (the standard version of make in Debian 8 is 4.0):
# cd /var/cache/apt/archives/
# wget http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/m/make-dfsg/make_3.81-8.2_amd64.deb
# dpkg --install make_3.81-8.2_amd64.deb
# apt-mark hold make
##### Create udev rules (Use lsusb with the phone connected to the PC to find out the vendor ID):
# vi /etc/udev/rules.d/android.rules
  # To build B2G for the Geeksphone Peak
  # https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Firefox_OS/Firefox_OS_build_prerequisites#Install_adb
  #                                  Qualcomm
  SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="05c6", MODE="0666", GROUP="plugdev"
  #                                  Google
  SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="18d1", MODE="0666", GROUP="plugdev"
# chmod a+r /etc/udev/rules.d/android.rules
##### Restart udev or just:
# reboot
##### Set the maximum size of the files stored in the compiler cache (for the user which will build B2G)
$ ccache --max-size 10GB

##### Download the build system (not yet the B2G code)
################################################################################
##### Download the build system to the new folder B2G...
$ git clone https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/B2G.git
$ cd B2G
##### ...or update the content of an already existing folder:
$ cd B2G
$ git pull https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/B2G.git

##### Download additional language packs (in addition to en)
################################################################################
##### See https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/ for avaliable languages
################################################################################
$ cd gaia/locales/
##### Download the needed language packs....
$ hg clone https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v2_1/de
$ hg clone https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v2_1/es
$ hg clone https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v2_1/fr
$ hg clone https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/gaia-l10n/v2_1/it
##### ...or update existing ones:
$ (cd de && hg pull)
$ (cd es && hg pull)
$ (cd fr && hg pull)
$ (cd it && hg pull)
$ cd -

##### Create the file .userconfig in the B2G folder containing various build options:
$ vi .userconfig
  # Options for config.sh/build.sh
  # https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Firefox_OS/Customization_with_the_.userconfig_file

  # Turn on USB debugging
  export DEVICE_DEBUG=1

  # User build (do not install debugging apps)
  export PRODUCTION=1

  ##### Add language packs
  ################################################################################
  # Folder containing the language packs
  export LOCALE_BASEDIR=$PWD/gaia/locales
  # The languages listed in the file named in LOCALES_FILE can be selected in the phone settings. If the language is listed in this file but there is
  # no corresponding language pack in gaia/locales/ the setting has no effect. You can create your own LOCALES_FILE to list only the available languages.
  export LOCALES_FILE=$PWD/gaia/locales/languages_dev.json
  # Preselected language
  export GAIA_DEFAULT_LOCALE=de

  ##### additional keyboards (see https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia/tree/v1.2/keyboard/layouts)
  ################################################################################
  export GAIA_KEYBOARD_LAYOUTS=en,de,es,fr,it

##### Build configuration and download of the B2G sources
################################################################################
##### List supported phones:
$ ./config.sh
##### Use the default tree (not necessarily master) for the Geeksphone Peak...
$ ./config.sh peak
##### ...or use a specific branch, e.g. 2.0:
$ BRANCH=v2.0 ./config.sh peak
##### After the first run of ./config.sh the available branches can be listed with:
$ (cd .repo/manifests && git branch -a)

##### Build B2G
################################################################################
##### From now on the phone should be connected to the PC.
##### When run the first time ./build.sh saves all system files from the phone.
################################################################################
##### Check if phone is available:
$ adb devices
List of devices attached
e9a17088f456    device
##### Build B2G:
$ ./build.sh
##### The system files will be saved as out/target/product/peak/*.img

##### Write B2G to the phone. Caution: All data will be erased from the phone!
################################################################################
$ ./flash.sh

Offline robyinno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • GNU/Linux PowerPC Notebook
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2015, 07:31:16 AM »
Many Thanks!
I will try with Keon, and I will update about.
Gnu/Linux PowerPC notebook
http://powerpc-notebook.org/

To make happen a new powerpc notebook will be produced soon.
http://twitter.com/powerpcnotebook
https://www.facebook.com/powerpcnotebook

Offline rick110

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2015, 01:26:24 PM »
@helmar:

Are the internal and the external sdcard mounted correctly?
with the latest GP-2.2-image mount says

Code: [Select]
/dev/block/vold/179:18 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:18 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0                                                                                       
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0                             
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/emmc vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0

and with the image compiled by myself (master):

Code: [Select]
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0

So partition 33 is the external sdcard, partition 18 the internal.

Using my images the internal partition 18 is not mounted.

Any idea? Is your mounting correct?

Rick

Offline helmar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Updates stuck at 2015-04-07
« Reply #29 on: May 15, 2015, 06:30:42 AM »
Quote
Are the internal and the external sdcard mounted correctly?

no, my mounts are not correct.

These are the mounts after powering on the phone with a 16 GB SD card inserted:

Code: [Select]
root@android:/ # mount                                                         
rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system ext4 ro,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=0,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered,noauto_da_alloc 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 /persist ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p15 /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
root@android:/ # df
Filesystem             Size   Used   Free   Blksize
/dev                  146.9M  64.0K  146.9M   4096
/mnt/asec             146.9M  0.0K  146.9M   4096
/mnt/obb              146.9M  0.0K  146.9M   4096
/system               442.9M  152.8M  290.1M   4096
/data                 1.9G  91.1M  1.8G   4096
/persist              9.8M  4.1M  5.8M   4096
/cache                142.0M  4.1M  137.8M   4096
/mnt/sdcard           14.8G  14.2G  680.8M   32768
/mnt/secure/asec      14.8G  14.2G  680.8M   32768
root@android:/ # vdc volume list
110 sdcard /mnt/sdcard 4
110 emmc /mnt/emmc 0
110 fat /mnt/fat 0
200 Volumes listed.

In the "Media Storage" settings i see a total space of 14,78 GB of internal storage, but this is not the internal storage, it is the SD card. In the settings no SD card is shown.

So the SD card is mounted on /mnt/sdcard and accessible from the UI, but the phone thinks it is the internal storage. And the "real" internal storage is not visible.


I modified the file /etc/vold.origin.fstab (the other /etc/vold.*fstab files do not seem to have any effect):

Code: [Select]
$ diff vold.origin.fstab.orig vold.origin.fstab
28c28
< dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host
---
> dev_mount emmc   /mnt/emmc   auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host
30c30
< dev_mount emmc /mnt/emmc auto NULL
---
> dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard 18   /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.3/mmc_host

then rebooted the phone. Now the mounts are:

Code: [Select]
root@android:/mnt # mount                                                     
...
/dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/emmc vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1023,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:18 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:18 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
root@android:/ # df
Filesystem             Size   Used   Free   Blksize
...
/mnt/emmc             14.8G  14.2G  680.8M   32768
/mnt/sdcard           1023.4M  3.8M  1019.5M   4096
/mnt/secure/asec      1023.4M  3.8M  1019.5M   4096
root@android:/ # vdc volume list
110 emmc /mnt/emmc 4
110 sdcard /mnt/sdcard 4
110 fat /mnt/fat 0
200 Volumes listed.

Both storages are shown correctly in the "Media Storage" settings. I can share the internal storage via USB, but not the SD card (maybe bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1090271). I also cannot import contacts from the SD card. Gallery/Music/Video can access both storages.

The mount points seem strange, but only this way they are mapped correctly in the UI. I would expect that emmc means internal storage ("emmc" stands for "embedded Multimedia Card" according to Wikipedia) and sdcard is the SD card. Anyway, there's something messed up with all these mount points, device names etc. Don't know how all of this is supposed to work correctly, but i can send some logs or test some settings if anyone is aware of this.


Regards,   Helmar.