Author Topic: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia  (Read 9179 times)

Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« on: April 27, 2013, 12:33:44 PM »
I have updated Gaia on my Peak four or five times without any problem. But since last time I have flashed and rebooted, it gets stuck in geeksphone splash forever.

I can adb shell to it, but have no idea on what to do to force it to boot up... (tried start b2g with no success).

Is there any available image for Peak's original firmware so that I can flash it using recovery?

Thanks!

Offline KSmithInNY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2013, 10:37:48 AM »
Glad you asked, I was wondering this myself in the shower this morning.  Considering this is a developer device, and developer isn't exclusive to just apps but rather also the underlying core OS code, IMG files should be readily available.  Google does this with their Nexus line, Canonical is distributing IMG files, I'd think Geeksphone/Mozilla would also want to pursue this.

With regards to the command, If you're in a boot loop there wouldn't be any command to be issued which could correct it (afaik).  I'd think at best, use logcat or kmsg would assist in determining the issue but even so, you'd need to correct the underlying cause, flash the corrected image, which would then allow boot.

Offline c.martinez.lozano

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2013, 01:21:06 PM »
In some cases you need to wipe data, because we are using production build and you are using a development build.

To do it:

1.-adb shell wipe data
2.-Flash gaia again.

Regards.


Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 01:43:06 PM »
That happened the first time I flashed Gaia.
It got stuck with "based on mozilla technology" and fixed it with that same command.

But this time I'm afraid that's not the problem. What's more, I can't run "adb shell" as it just answers "- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: Permission denied (13) -".

I'm very sad of having turned such an awesome device into nothing more than a brick  :'(

Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2013, 08:37:07 AM »
Willyaranda from Telefónica has already sent me compiled images for recovering my Peak and it is working again.  :D

Offline KSmithInNY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2013, 10:16:57 AM »
Willyaranda from Telefónica has already sent me compiled images for recovering my Peak and it is working again.  :D

share please.

Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile

Offline KSmithInNY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile

Offline Cédric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2013, 02:52:15 PM »
Hi,

I have the same issue.
What is this adb shell?
How do you get a shell to the device?
Should I need some program to connect to it via USB?

Offline Cédric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2013, 04:16:44 PM »
Okey, after doing my homework, I managed to install Android SDK, SDK Manager, etc...
However, the "device manager" (Windows 7) see an Android device connected, but I can't install the google USB driver.

What I've done:
* Start menu
* Search device manager
* Open it
* Choose the Android device (with an exclamation mark)
* Choose to update driver
* Choose "Browse my computer for driver software"
* Open the path where the google usb driver are located on my Android SDK folder (something like C:\Users\Jack\Desktop\adt-bundle-windows-x86-20130219\adt-bundle-windows-x86-20130219\sdk\extras\google\usb_driver)
* Check the "Include subfolder" combo box and click next

... Windows said that it was unable to install my Android... :/

BTW, the command "adb devices" doesn't found anything...

I don't have any other idea...
I hope that someone can give me some pointer...

« Last Edit: May 03, 2013, 04:23:57 PM by Cédric »

Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2013, 08:09:47 PM »
Snce bricked devices "are not likely" to listen to USB adb connections, this issue is solved by flashing the images I posted using fastboot instead of adb. In order to force the device to listen to fastboot connections, just turn it on into bootloader mode by powering it up while pressing Vol+ and Vol- keys.

Sorry, I am a GNU/Linux man so I have no idea on how to run fastboot on Windows. Perhaps someone over here may enlighten you ;)

Offline Cédric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2013, 04:30:40 AM »
I am a linux user too, so don't worry! You can tell me how to do it! ;)
I have a Fedora up to date, and that's my favorite platform for coding (I'm a PHP & HTML5 coder IRL).
I admit I'm a total noob at smartphone hacking ATM, but I am very enthousiastic to be a part of the raise of Firefox OS (and other free mobile OS).


Offline aesedepece

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2013, 04:56:13 AM »
Nice!

First, you need to download fastboot. Don't know if it is in Fedora's repositories, but try to install from console as follows:
Code: [Select]
yum install fastbootIf it is not, here you have a binary you can use without installing:
https://cloud.waalt.com/public.php?service=files&t=3472796738b14e085062d9a7ec04d589

Download the images I posted before and extract the files inside to your /home folder or somewhere else. Open a console and navigate to that folder. Power up your device into bootloader mode (power&vol+&vol-) and conenct it to the PC. Then just run the following commands line by line:
Code: [Select]
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash system system.img
fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
fastboot reboot

Then, you are done!

P.S.: Just in case: if you use the fastboot binary, you should had extracted it into the same folder as the images and write "./fastboot" instead of "fastboot".
P.S.2: Depending on your GNU/Linux distribution, you may need to run fastboot as root or using "sudo" when available in order to discover connected devices.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2013, 04:58:07 AM by aesedepece »

Offline Cédric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2013, 07:22:50 AM »
Thanks a lot!
My phone is working again! :P

And it looks 10 times easier on Fedora than on Windows 7 ^^

Offline lissyx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck in geeksphone splash after updating Gaia
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2013, 04:27:58 AM »
There it goes:
https://cloud.waalt.com/public.php?service=files&t=0135a9b1d504176adc72789409d25d83  ;D

Awesome!  Thanks!  +1 Karma to you sir

Thanks for sharing those, however the image is a bit different from stock one. If you want to get back to full stock, first download and flash this, then, boot and complete the FTU. Ensure you have WiFi connectivity and enabled adb.

Then proceed like this:
Code: [Select]
$ adb pull /system/b2g/defaults/pref/user.js user.peak.js
modify the user.peak.js file, changing the value of the "app.update.url" key. In the image, it's:
Code: [Select]
pref("app.update.url", "http://gpfos.s3.amazonaws.com/peak/TID/update.xml");to get stock updates, please change it to:
Code: [Select]
pref("app.update.url", "http://gpfos.s3.amazonaws.com/peak/update.xml");
Then proceed the next following steps:
Code: [Select]
$ adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
$ adb push user.peak.js /system/b2g/defaults/pref/user.js
$ adb shell stop b2g
$ adb shell start b2g

You can now go to the Parameters, Informations menu, and check for updates. You should get a notification of one required system update, just download, apply, and celebrate.

You might also need to purge the homescreen:
Code: [Select]
$ adb shell rm -r /data/local/webapps/*homescreen.gaiamobile.org/
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 04:31:17 AM by lissyx »